Hi, I am a newbie. I spent 3 days Programing my Storm 9530. I am on the Alltel network. I finally got everything transfered and set up. (Yea!!) I was cleaning the finger smudges off of the screen to apply a Verizon Storm screen protector. I did have to push firmly, NOT hard but firmly on the upper left corner of the screen with the supplied cleaning cloth in a circular motion to remove a stuborn smudge. (in the portrait mode it would be the upper left corner, In the landscape on the Storms left side it would be the far lower left and far left middle of the screen. I removed the smudge, applied the screen protector. Turned on the Storm.... and now I have buttons that will not work.

On the left side while typing a text message the "Q", "A" and the !?123 buttons do NOT light up and will not work. If I turn the Storm on the Right side the "P" and the "<-" button do not work. These buttons WORKED before I cleaned the screen.

I did remove the screen protector and tried to see if the buttons would work however I had the same negative results.

Is there a way to recalibrate the screen or fix it or did I ruin my Storm and I am just screwed.

Alltel does not offer this phone and Verizon has not completed the swich over yet. I bought this phone off a individual on eBay and it was brand new. I dont think RIM will replace it since I do not have a receipt and I am not the origional purchasor (sp).
    ANY SUGUESTIONS??
    Last edited by ujoint68; 01-29-09 at 02:25 PM. Reason: Changed Title
    01-29-09 02:13 PM
    Have you removed your battery and had the Storm reboot? Good luck.
    01-29-09 03:13 PM
    Thank you for the suggestion however I did try several Battery removals, I even did one for over an hour and still no improvement. I should clarify that the buttons are visible and the entire screen appears normal however the buttons in question do NOT respond to touch. Prior to applying the screen protector. The Strorm functioned as designed.
    01-29-09 03:20 PM