This says it all in terms of the reception issues:

Why Apple's iPhone 4 Update Won't Fix Your Reception Problem
    07-03-10 06:48 AM
    I have no issue discussing other phones in a BB forum, especially in comparison of the BB for that forum. What gets me is the immediate, defensive, childish, petty responses it elicits. Comical, but sad.

I am a tech person. I like to have many devices. I was never a Ford vs Chevy or Mercedes vs. BMW war person. I want to use what works best for what I do with it. I have a Mac and several PC's and I consider myself a power user on both. I have had an iPhone and several BB's. Heck I have had two Windows Mobile phones and an old Palm Treo with the Palm OS, which kicked **** in its day. They each have their pro's and con's.

I think we can all admit two things:

(1) RIM was way ahead of a lot of other companies in the smart phone space. BlackBerry phones have been able to do things for years that others are now just catching or still have not recognized, and most of them go to productivity and ease of use. The iOS4 is a good example of playing catch up on core functions, but already being ahead in newer areas of use.
    (2) RIM in many other areas is falling behind. In areas like web browsing they are way behind. My RIM hardware experience has been bad. Every other device I have had from every other manufacturer has been better in terms of build and reliability, period. This is not just my experience. My company replaces BB's like crazy. Our old Windows Mobile phones like the Moto Q's are tanks, and last forever. They suck for functions, but they last a long time and were great phones. RIM needs to catch up to capture all the newer, yet key functions people want. Web browsing for business users and consumers is important today, especially if you travel. It is not a toy function, even though yes a laptop is better. They must catch up.