Hello All. I've been a blackberry user since Dec 08 with the storm 1 and just upgraded to the storm 2 six weeks ago. I have truly enjoyed reading these forums over the past few years. I believe that they are an undervalued resource. I often hope that officials at RIM frequent them because there is an immense wealth of knowledge about their customer in these forums. I am a tech enthusiast as well as a crack berry addict and decided yesterday to post some thoughts.

I am the type of bb user that upgrades his berry the day an OS leaks. I had a patient but frustrating experience with the S1. I refused to give up on the device because I expected more from RIM and will admit that they made substantial (but necessary) changes for the year that I used it. I am sorry to see that the device has had a lack of leaks in the past few months. This will leave a sour taste in the mouths of users if they drop support. In my opinion the phone has a lot of life in it but sadly has poorly written software running it.

After hearing the positive reviews S2 users, I got the itch and took the plunge. I did however demand s
    some sort of a discount from verizon. I repeatedly told their store managers that verizon isn't the problem (although I was thoroughly dissatisfied with the lack of technical knowledge of the phone). RIM was the issue. How does an end user complain to rim about their device? My answer, through verizon. Enough verizon customers complain about their device, RIM will certainly hear about it.

I ended up accepting an offer from verizon for $79 with a BOGO as long as I renewed my two year contract with verizon. (I was a year into a two year contract at the time) Satisfied with their offer I took the two phones and have been using them since.

The first thing that I noticed about S2 is that I no longer had memory issues or leaks. This was pretty buch the only problem with the S1. It was, however, a huge one.