Well, I've had my new Storm for about one day and I have to say that so far, I really like it. I'm a rank beginner when it comes to technology, but so far Verizon and this Discussion Board has my back!

A few issues right out of the box...VERY slow accelerometer (sp), very slow transition between menu items, and phone kept shutting itself off.

Based on some reading I did here, I found out how to delete apps, so I deleted "visual voice mail" whatever that is, and Verizon's music service, as well as the GPS program.

This took me from 20 mb of ram to 38, not bad for a rookie, as I patted myself on the back...Unfortunately, I patted too soon. Read on....

Next issue was the phone turning itself off, and THEN the Desk top manager failed to recognize my device. So, I did a battery pull (another thing I learned from you guys and gals) and de-installed DTM. The de-install did not work-the device still would not recognize the Desk top manager, so I did another de-install this time using the CD that came with the phone...

Presto! I was able to call up the DTM and synch the phone to my Outlook and email accounts....

The phone deciding when it wanted to run and did not want to run was beyond my pay grade so I called Verizon. The tech told me I had a corruption in a file. (I hate when that happens...) They walked me through a "wipe" of the system. Problem solved!

So, as of right now, I have a fully functioning Storm. Now I just gotta personalize it a bit for me and learn how to actually use it!

Cheers,
    Steve in So Cal

ps-both Vzn techs I spoke with told me an up-dated OS is in "Testing" even as we speak. We'll see....
    05-05-09 05:24 PM
    Welcome to the addiction.

Keep reading and you'll eventually want to try one of the leaked builds. They make the Storm far more responsive and less cumbersome. And as you've already seen, it's fairly simple to return to the original OS when needed.

Enjoy.
    05-05-09 05:37 PM