Total newb here, had my Storm for 2 weeks and 2 days now. Tax refund gift to myself, to replace a Voyager that was frankly annoying in its limitations. I see alot of comments in here regarding the Storm's performance vs. the iPhone; like "the Storm's processor is more powerful than the iPhone, it should be at least as smooth and fluid"

This thinking is fundamentally flawed, as the iPhone has one significant component that the Storm doesn't (or at least doesn't make use of at this time, whether or not it has the necessary hardware seems to be a point of debate)... And this magical component is: a hardware 3D accelerator.

The iPhone uses a Samsung S5L8900 processor which contains a 412MHz ARM 1176 processor AND a PowerVR MBX 3D coprocessor. I believe it uses Apple's "Core Interface" hardware acceleration which is OpenGL based for both drawing of the GUI, and 3D rendering. The CPU is left free for applications and background processes.

The Storm, on the other hand, uses the Qualcomm MSM7600 processor; which contains a 400MHz ARM11 and a 274MHz ARM9 CPU core. Notice, neither of these cores are GPU cores, they are CPUs; the Storm uses software rendering. The CPU cores must run both the OS and phone software and also take care of graphics rendering.

A good way to illustrate the difference is to think back to the introduction of the graphics accelerator card for the PC (think 3Dfx Voodoo). Remember how old DOS games always ran at an ultra-low resolution, and basically felt really clunky? There's software rendering for you. Now think about the 3Dfx card, and the Glide API; all of a sudden DOS games ran in a high res (for the time) at 30fps (also speedy for the time). Another good illustration is how a PCs graphics card renders things right after Windows is installed and before the proper drivers are in place.