I have seen the multiple posts waiting and begging for Verizon to release an OS update. I like many of you am a Newbie. My Storm is my first Blackberry and I have had it since March 2009. Since I'm a newbie, I always let the warnings to follow the guides at my own risk stop me from installing a leaked version and wait for Verizon.

Well, I finally got frustrated enough with Verizon to take the Leaked OS plunge. I fully read through the NOOB Help Guide written by olta777 with links to other Help guides from Rooster, Crucual_Xtreme and others. This NOOB Help Guide is phenomenal and helped me to get upgraded to version 148 in about an hour. Many thanks to all of you who have contributed to the NOOB Help Guide!!!!!

I wanted to let the other Newbie's that the process is relatively simple and encourage all the Newbie's out there to stop waiting for Verizon and take the leaked OS plunge. I took the precaution of backing up my data and the third party apps I had purchased. I did not need to follow the "How to Backup 3rd Parth apps" since I had purchased all my third party apps on the Crackberry Store and was able to download files from the Crackberry store.

Taking the precaution of backing up my data was crucial in my case. When the upgrade process initially tried to restore my data, it failed BUT encouraged me to use DM to restore my data. That restore process worked and I was in business within the hour.

The only issues I have run into with the 148 release is my battery life seems to be shorter. I'm following the other posts about 148 battery life and things seem to be improving. Improvements I have seen so far:
    1) Available memory is much better - had 19KB before the upgrade and have 35KB now
    2) Many functions perform much faster (camera, switching from portriat to landscape, browser, etc)
    3) Full keyboard in portrait mode
    4) No more crashes (at least so far).