Total newb here so thanks in advance for your help...

When my Storm is on a flat surface the touchscreen barely, if ever recognizes my touch and clicking on the screen does nothing. Is this a common occurance or is there a setting I need to change?

I see some videos posted with people working on their Storm as it rests on their desks and mine just does not respond. Any help appreciated!
    03-02-09 12:38 PM
    I think it has something to do with the surface being grounded or not. If you touch another part of the phone and touch the screen it should work.
    03-02-09 12:41 PM
    I get the same thing. Running .109
    I think its done on purpose to recognize that the phone is not in use.
    Didnt do that with .103 or .75
    03-02-09 12:48 PM
    Does it work when it's plugged in to the charger? Mine behaves the same way, unless I touch the body (other than the screen) with another finger, or if it's plugged for charging.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-02-09 12:53 PM
    I'm running .75 (still praying for an official OS release) because I know I will fry my phone.

I've seen videos of people using their Storm without any issue on a flat surface. Whether I discharge my static electricity or not, it just is not as reponsive on flat surfaces as it is when it's in my hands.

If I press the touch screen a couple of times the menu will appear, but slecting applications or icons is very hit and miss and unresponsive upon clicking. I can see that RIM would want there to be a difference in the functionality between "in hand" and "on surface" use but if I didn't see it used on a flat surface with my own two eyes I would think it wasn't possible.
    03-02-09 12:55 PM
    When charging it's the same. I have to touch one of the physical buttons to get it responsive and then the issue of it not recongizing touch occurs again...until I pick it up of course. Once it's at an angle it's fine.
    03-02-09 12:56 PM