Have a doctor friend who is trying to find an application that will let him read MRI's. I was just watching TV and noticed that they just advertised an app for the Iphone that does this. Just curious if anyone know of such an app for the BB.
    02-19-09 08:35 PM
    I wouldn't want my DR reading my MRI from a phone.

Sounds like a bad DR to me.
    02-19-09 08:57 PM
    I don't think Osirx is out yet on the Storm (that's the app for the MRI)

I also don't see the utility in it. For a rough study, maybe. For an actual interpretation of an MRI, I'd like to see who can do it as quickly/accurately/and efficiently on their iPhone as they can from their PACS workstation.
    02-19-09 09:00 PM
    I wouldn't want my DR reading my MRI from a phone.

Sounds like a bad DR to me.
    But if you had a brain aneurysm while your doctor was in the middle of traveling, I'm sure you wouldn't complain that he was worried enough to read your MRI where he couldn't get to a computer.

I'm not a doctor, but I'd much rather see apps like these made than COMPLETELY USELESS apps like fart machines and shavers...
    02-19-09 09:05 PM
    I use the ipod touch app to show interesting MRI's to med students ... it's a good teaching tool. But kinda limited, esp with the small screen.

still wish they had it for the storm
    02-19-09 09:12 PM
    I'm a radiologist, and I can tell you that there are very strict image resolution requirements imposed by the feds. Even the most robust off the shelf desktop monitors do not meet those requirements. There is no way I would ever attempt to review an MRI on a smart-phone screen
    02-19-09 09:20 PM
    From talking to my friend this is something that he would like to have the capability of doing while on the road. Not for percise reading but something he look at to maybe start diagnoising(sp) sorry about he possible spelling error I am not the doctor.
    02-19-09 09:21 PM
    To Brianr0131: