I am a huge reader of books so seeing the ereader beta come out gave me joy. I thought I would give my quick pro-con comparing the two betas. I don't do any fancy lookups or copy/paste I just read books so pls note that and feel free to correct me or add to it, this is just my very humble opinion. I am not a developer and have a tremendous amount of respect for ya'll who code:

ereader beta
    Pro-Nice clean look just a bit cleaner for some reason than mobi
    Pro-OUTSTANDING ability to either "swipe" to next page or you simply click the bottom half of the screen to move ahead or top half of the screen to go back. I love this feature as sometimes I hold it at odd angles and swiping is tiresome.
    Pro-Online bookshelf is sharp and nicer than mobi, shows all of my ereader books I have ever purchased from ereader.com
    Pro-Online website is cleaner and easier to use IMHO than mobi's in-reader online book ordering process. Others say that going out of the app and going online to order a book is cumbersome, but I prefer the robustness of the web page.
    Pro- Fictionwise ebooks are valid
    Pro-You can close ereader via menu and it does not stay on like mobi does.
    Con - HUGE CON that will prevent me from using ereader until it is fixed - you can not lock orientation which sucks when laying down at an angle. <please fix this>

Mobipocket beta:
    Pro- clean easy startup never forgets your page even on upgrade install (ereader had this habit on Windows Mobile but I have not used it enough to test on my Storm)
    Pro- more options to customize the look, color, justification, etc..
    Pro- for some....ebookstore is within the app
    Pro- lock orientation screen - lets you lay down on your side and still read in portrait mode...nice
    Con- you have to go to library first then close out Mobi to get it to turn "off" each time, and it auto-starts as well - not nice.