I have been charging the Storm overnight. Today our electricity went haywire. Some stuff is working and power is out to other stuff - some of it on the same breaker. So we flip the main and reset the breakers one-by-one and now some of the power that was on before is off now and vica-versa. So we call the power company and they just left after telling me the main breaker is toast. That's probably a $2,000 fix. I blame the Storm. I'm calling Verizon tomorrow! I'm fettup!

....ok the TV is out and I've got nothing better to do... But the part about the breaker being shot is true. That sucks. I wish I could blame the Storm!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by Sharkz; 01-07-09 at 11:22 PM.
    01-07-09 11:16 PM
    Sorry to hear about your troubles!

One thing, I used to be an electrician and thought I might offer some suggestions!

I have had to replace many main breakers. Most of the time all that has to be done is remove the panel cover, and determine what brand your panel is and what the size your main breaker is. Most likely it is something like a 100 amp or 200am breaker. Then you would go to the local home depot or what ever and ask them to give ya exactly what you have. (If you were to take a picture of the panel and the breakler close up I might be able to help you with more detail)
    then depending on your skill level you could either contact someone who knows more from here or go it alone.

If you choose to go it alone you would most likely see bolts on the main breaker on the bus side and slots on the feed side. Again a few pictures would make it easier to explain. You would want to make sure the breaker is off and if possible the power to the whole house then just remove the bolts and then pop out the breaker, and replace with the new one.