So I put .85 on a storm 9530 last night, no problems at all. Today I try putting .86 on a different phone [same model] so i did the following.
    *DL'd it from a link you guys provided
    *Did "add/remove" of the old OS through control panel.
    *Installed .86
    *opened desktop manager
    *clicked update

[There was more steps obviously, I followed con Nguyens instructions precisely]

It tells me that 4.7.0.78 is currently installed and that no updates are needed.
    Then I figured I would just put .85 on the 2 other storms, deleted .86 through control panel, used the same OS from last night (.85) and I by the end of it I got the same message! that .78 is installed and no updates are needed... can someone help please?
    01-15-09 04:31 PM
    THE BEST WAY (for me ) TO UPGRADE AN OS. Sorry for all the caps.... I don't know how it happened.
    I Did The Upgrade From .83 To .86 And I Have To Say I Was Extremely Nervous Since I Am Very New To This. I Had Read All The Threads And Asked A Few Questions.If You Follow These Steps It Might Work Good For You Also. I Dl The Os And Saved It To My Pc, Cleaned The Memory, Backed Up My Phone, Deleted The Vendor File, Did The Wipe, Installed Os 83, Restored My Backup File And Restored My 3rd Party Apps. After The Install Was Done I Pulled The Batt. For 30 Seconds. There Were Some Apps That Needed To Be Re-installed ( But No Big Deal ).
    After All Said And Done.... Was A Great Install Took About 30 Min. From Start To Finish. The Only Issue I Have Is The Bluetooth Not Working With The Videos But, I Do Have My Ear Bud Headset Anyways. No Biggie To Me About The Bluetooth Issue. It Will Be Fixed In Due Time I Believe In The Near Future I Hope.
    Overall.... I Like This Os .86 A Lot. Runs Smoother And Faster.
    Thanks For All The Help That Was Given To Me To Make This Dl A Breeze.
    By The Way...My Memory Went From 22.4 T0 50.9