I went to my local library today, and checked out a couple of Javascript programming books. I have basic programming experience from my Trash-80 days. Yeah I know that is a give away as to how ancient I am.

Thanks to dmglakewood for putting me onto the right track for learning a new language.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-13-09 04:27 PM
    i think you checked out the wrong books (well i KNOW you checked out the wrong books, assuming you didnt mis type)

the BB storm and all recent BB's use JAVA, specifically Java2 Micro Edition.

javascript does NOT equal JAVA. javascript will help you to write web applications, thats it.

you need to learn JAVA, then learn J2ME and then learn the BB API's.
    02-13-09 04:35 PM
    Ok. I will have to search the library catalog online and request them. Those weren't on the shelf today.

02-13-09 04:41 PM
    look for head first java, supposedly the best java book you can get.
    02-13-09 04:54 PM
    I double checked what I signed out. Head First is one of the books I grabbed. Guess that is the one I will read. Thanks.

02-13-09 05:05 PM
    Head First Java

NOT

Head First Javascript right? Cause i know there is also a head first javascript and wouldnt want you to waste so much time learning javascript!
    02-13-09 05:13 PM
    Yup, I will have to search and request. Thanks for catching that before I wasted time on the books to find I am in the area.
    02-13-09 06:47 PM
    I believe you have chosen the right language to learn by choosing Java.