Call me dumb, ive tried for hours.

Downloaded v5.0.0.966

After double clicking it all it seems to do is launch the blackberry desktop manager. When i search within desktop manager for updates it doesnt find the one i just downloaded.

how on earth do you do it??

Im a IT technician and have to admit, this has got me!
    05-02-10 12:37 AM
    The latest leaked OS is 643. You need to look at the 'application version'. Backup the device prior to upgrading the device, to be on the safe side.

- download and install the preferred OS on pc
    - delete vendor.xml file
    - connect device to pc
    - run loader.exe, this should initiate the OS loading process.

The vendor.xml and loader.exe can be found at c:/program files/ common files/ research in motion/ apploader.

Hope this helps

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-02-10 01:01 AM
    Hi,

i dont have research in motion folder. I downloaded v5.0.0.966 (o2) from blackberry website. Downloaded it to desktop, the icon is blue with 2 white arrows on it. Everytime i click it, it seems to be loading all sorts then loops and finishes and asks if i want to launch desktop manager which then stalls on the main screen of desktop manager, desktop manager doesnt find any new updates.

Confused. Why is this so complicated? tempted to ditch it and go iphone just because of this.
    05-02-10 08:01 AM
    O2 UK's latest storm2 OS is 553 (application version).

you must have the research in motion folder. Do you mind double checking it. Otherwise remove OS from pc and install it again. Forget about desktop manager and use loader.exe instead. Its not that complicated...its a simple and straight forward process

Good Luck

05-02-10 08:16 AM
    Ive Found the folder eventually and clicked on loader.exe it runs and finds 2 applications on my BB then it says no actions are required. Theres no option on that to download any OS. Really annoying me.
    05-02-10 08:25 AM