Folks,

I'm new to BBs, so sorry if this is a dumb question. I asked VZW to send me a new Storm due to the occasional reboots I experienced (still love this thing though). If I'm dependent on a Corporate BES server, can I simply back up my old Storm and restore all the configs to the new Storm using Device Manager? Or, will I likely have to call our IT department to make it happen? Is there a better/best way to do this?

Thanks!
    02-15-09 09:31 AM
    When you activate on the BES the new device, it will take all the information from the old device wirelessly. (PIM/Settings/Prepopulate messages according to your settings)
    02-15-09 09:32 AM
    Thanks, Sith.

So I assume that means I do have to call my IT department?
    02-15-09 09:37 AM
    Yes you will have to contact them to activate your new device. You also need to do this when you upgrade your firmware.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-15-09 10:06 AM
    Actually if they allow activation through DM just connect to DM on a computer that is on your corporate network, it will ask if you want to switch the PIN, hit yes.
    02-15-09 10:08 AM
    When you activate on the BES the new device, it will take all the information from the old device wirelessly. (PIM/Settings/Prepopulate messages according to your settings)
    When you reactivate, everything should transfer, but if you've added any apps, you'll lose them if you haven't done a backup on DM. ALSO, you'll have to reset you BES through your company again.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-15-09 12:52 PM
    I've just switched from Pearl to Storm on BES. I just plugged the new phone into my PC which is connected to the corporate network. Ran desktop manager, which prompted me if I'd like to switch to the new PIN, I said yes and that was it.... piece of cake.
    02-15-09 01:19 PM