I am a noob in the upgrading OS aspect for sure. What's everyones thoughts on their method of upgrading their OS? Via DM or OTA?? This I guess excludes Mac users since they dont have this option. Im asking this question b/c this is the first time i will be upgrading my OS on my storm and Im thinking about going the DM route. I havent backed up anything to my PC yet either nor have I loaded DM onto it. Recommended?? Ive been hesitant on loading DM onto my PC as well b/c I heard it slows it down a bit. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks!
    06-01-09 09:51 AM
    06-01-09 09:55 AM
    Did my upgrade via DM with no issues and it appears to be much quicker then the OTA upgrade (from what I've read on CB)
    06-01-09 09:59 AM
    To the OP use your DM unless you can't. It easier and straightforward that most people think. With the OTA, sure the phone does it for you but if something goes bad you don't where the problem is.
    06-01-09 10:02 AM
    To the OP use your DM unless you can't. It easier and straightforward that most people think. With the OTA, sure the phone does it for you but if something goes bad you don't where the problem is.
    Hmm thanks guys i think i will be using the DM. While doing this is there any risk of my contact info, or any info for that matter, getting wiped?? I've been reading, w/o knowledge of method etc, that some people having been having issues. Also is it as simple as connecting it to the PC via usb and letting it rip??
    06-01-09 10:07 AM
    Hmm thanks guys i think i will be using the DM. While doing this is there any risk of my contact info, or any info for that matter, getting wiped?? I've been reading, w/o knowledge of method etc, that some people having been having issues. Also is it as simple as connecting it to the PC via usb and letting it rip??
    Yes... there is always that risk. Back everything up. User information and 3rd party apps (two different processes). Better safe than sorry.