....and here is my take.

I am a father of two and a hardcore geek - I have been working with PCs and related technology for 28 years. I encourage my kids to dive into technology and really understand its usage and value. However, that is not to say that all technology is relevant to everyone all the time! I don't know you, so I can't possibly know what is in your mind, but I'm thinking that you want this device (in part) because of the "cool factor". At 14, what do you need mobile internet for? Looking up stuff in school? That is what a PC is for. I can't think that your email accounts are mission critical, so you don't need to have push email. I could go on and on and.....

While I encourage you to explore technology and check out all the cool stuff out there, realize all of it might not be appropriate for you right now.
    12-15-08 07:39 AM
    as a parent of 3 (14, 16 & 18) I have no problem with my kids having cell phones.
    They get them at age 16 in my house, youngest son got one at his brothers request.
    My oldest said something about next summer getting a storm, and I reminded him about the bill.
    He just smiled and said, you're right Mom... much more economical to use yours. hmmmm
    (at least I know why I got the smartphone- looks like I have some catching up to do)
    Oh and at age 40 now, I have only had a cell phone for right at 8 years.
    12-15-08 07:40 AM
    Well OP, you said you just wanted people to tell you how to convince your dad. Its hard for people to do that when I think all but 2 people dont believe you should have it...