I'm new to the Blackberry world (haven't actually joined yet until I can get a Storm) but I can't figure out how I'm going to get my corporate Exchange email on my Storm. My company does not and will not have a BES and they only support a smartphone with "activesync".

My requirements are:
    -send/receive emails from my Storm and have them in my appear in my outlook folders as well (especially email sent from my Storm needs to be in my "sent" folder
    -sycn calendar events between outlook/storm
    -sync contacts between outlook/storm.

So, is this possible and if so, what are the requirements? Will this be a reliable experience? BTW, I'm with Verizon now and I'll need to understand what plan to purchase to support this.
    11-18-08 10:14 AM
    why will they not have a BES?

you could use BPS instead. thats what i use here at work. we have lots of windows mobile users and BB users
    11-18-08 10:17 AM
    look into astrasync for blackberry... should interface with activesync like you want/need
    11-18-08 10:18 AM
    Out of box support will do BIS which has OWA conduits. If you can use Outlook Web Access now to your corporate Exchange server, you can use BIS. This will give you your Inbox folder with emails available from point in time that tie-in to account is setup. No subfolder support however, you'll need BES for that. Sent items from your Storm will go to Sent Items on your Exchange account and viewable in Outlook under Sent Items. Deleted items form your Storm can also be deleted form Exchange account and will go to Deleted Items on that account and viewable in Outlook.

Sync will be available via Desktop Manager with a USB cable for your calendar and address book... so no OTA for that unless you have BES.