I received an email with Chinese characters in it, and they seemed to appear just fine. I was able to read the email just fine. Is there a way for me to be able to type out Chinese characters? I'm about to leave to go to China, so I was planning on using my BlackBerry Storm there. Also, is there a way to shut off the data on it? I was planning on turning off my service, getting my phone unlocked and using a prepaid SIM card when I get there.

Thanks
    12-07-08 11:07 PM
    You're asking a lot out of such a new device haha

there should be language updates with the new OS, maybe check that out. As far as shutting off the data, I would go to 'manage connections' and see what you find
    12-07-08 11:10 PM
    Where can I find the language updates? I'm really new to this. I'm coming from an HTC Touch where I had quite a few programs to where I can use my Chinese on.
    12-07-08 11:17 PM
    For the languages you need to install the language pack. go to your carrier and download the handheld software, connect desktop manager and select the language packs you want.

For the data you can go to Options, Mobile network, Data Services - Off when roaming or just off.
    12-07-08 11:20 PM
    For the languages you need to install the language pack. go to your carrier and download the handheld software, connect desktop manager and select the language packs you want.

For the data you can go to Options, Mobile network, Data Services - Off when roaming or just off.
    Okay. I have the desktop software, but where is the section for the language packs so I can select which ones? I think the default for VZW Storm is Spanish, English, and some other language that I can't remember.
    12-07-08 11:32 PM
    Alright, just found Input support, but the only English as checked and I don't see Chinese. Any idea where I can find the files to install Chinese for the Storm?
    12-07-08 11:36 PM