I'm new to BB and my Storm is my first experience and I love it! Anyhow, I have a noobie question about the BB Maps navigation VS the VZ Navigator. Does the BB Maps Navigation charge a fee? It does all that of VZ Nav but does not seem to cost. I have used VZ Nav previously on my Voyager and had to pay a fee but am unsure if there is one associate with BB Maps Navigation...can anyone help?
    11-24-08 07:58 AM
    I was wondering if the garmin software works on this phone also... hmm.
    11-24-08 08:00 AM
    BBMaps
    -Free
    -3rd party
    -over all gps

VZ Nav
    -9.99 a month
    -Verizons software
    -over all agps
    -gives turn by turn because it uses agps

agps (which allows for more exact location allowing turn by turn) is locked while generic gps is unlocked.

Not sure if any of those other paid subscription programs (garmin, telenav, etc) work on this, never tried.
    11-24-08 08:03 AM
    VZ Nav of course has a $10/month fee. BB Maps is free. I am one of the few who love VZ Nav. I have used BB Maps but prefer VZ Nav.
    11-24-08 08:03 AM
    where do u find bb maps?
    11-24-08 08:04 AM
    BB maps is free, i dont think garmin has software for this yet but rumor is its in the works
    11-24-08 08:05 AM
    I had VZ Nav on my Dare and hated it, definetly not worth the 9.99/month they charge. I was very excited when I discovered BB Maps.
    11-24-08 08:05 AM
    where do u find bb maps?
    BB Maps can be found under the applications tab on your Storm
    11-24-08 08:07 AM
    BB Maps is in your application folder. The cost of VZ Nav has already been posted. Google Maps is free. I don't know about Garmin but I know that my Tom Tom can bluetooth link to my Berry for live traffic updates.