First "crack" at a Blackberry or any smartphone for that matter. I am a bit overwhelmed, I guess. I have been checking out this forum and numerous reviews and it ended up between the Storm and the Omnia. Obvously the Storm won out for me. I have set up email, took some pictures, sent a couple emails, got Pandora up and running, transfered 1,039 songs over from my Ipod, did a system back-up (put it on my desktop) and downloaded the 4.7.0.148 to my desktop and trying to figure out why I need the .148 over the stock system. Also, I am trying to figure out how to install the .148. I read a number of How To's and I am still not sure what exactly to do as I am not a computer pro. I just seem to know enough to get things screwed up and I don't really want to screw up my new phone.
    I don't understand why pulling the battery gains memory (mine was at 19 and pulled the battery and it went to 38 after it rebooted. Does the .148 unlock the GPS?
    Any help, encouragement, etc is appreciated.
    Last edited by Jus Cruisin; 05-25-09 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Can't edit the heading to 9530 - should proof read
    05-25-09 07:37 PM
    I'll answer one and the rest will be answered by others I'm sure.
    The GPS isn't locked.
    Go to Options > Advanced Options > GPS
    and change GPS Services from "E911 only" to "Location On"
    05-25-09 07:46 PM
    pulling the battery doesnt gain memory. it resets the phone. every time you open a program a certain amount of app memory is used to open the app. if you dont close out the app correctly, then that amount of memory isnt re-allocated toward the opening of other apps and making the phone perform other functions. think ofit in terms of your pc..... every time you open a program, youneed to close it when youre done. if you just minimize the program to get it off your desktop then your still allocating that memory for the program, decreasing what you have available for opening and running other programs.
    to close a bb app.....