Alright, I'm a complete newbie to crackberry. I have the 9530 Storm and have already done all the updates provided by me device mgr. I know there's a crap load of updates to the os and I have no clud where to begin? What should I do first? Thanks for any suggestions and help!
    I am really not trying to be snooty at all... I was a total NewB at storm launch and this is what I did...

Step #1 - Read the Sticky right under this one called "How to Update to a leaked/beta OS...

Step #2 - Follow the instructions

Step #3 - If something does mess up DON'T PANIC just find the Thread call How to fix a bricked BB or something to that effect.

Step #4 - Read the Large thread in the Tips and Tricks Subforum and you will be an expert in no time!

*Please note: If you have problems, read more! These forums are awesome and will teach you SOOOO much...
    04-10-09 04:49 PM
    Bigslim, this update works fine and it is for the 9530 Storm. It's just a Bell update and there is a way to safely install it. I think you are under the impression that this is for the 9500. It isn't.

My phone is working fine no problems 19 hours after install.
    Hook, you are right, it would be my argument that it's for the 9500 and not the 9530. I haven't installed this just for that impression. I just don't like to know that one must go through so much trouble to install that OS on a 9530 storm. thanks for the follow up.
    04-10-09 05:27 PM
    Answer is simple. No.

There are parts of the OS's that can be used interchangably, the Java files, I believe, but you can't just load the whole OS built for a 9500 onto a 9530 or vice versa.
    I have a really DUMB question here, but didn't want to start a new thread to ask..... If the 9530 has a "CDMA" folder, what is the name of the folder on the 9500; since it's not a CDMA device?