it looks like the only way to get into "airplane mode" is to do "turn off all connections" from the connections screen. My question is that if I leave the GPS on, would that interfere with any operation of the flight???
    01-03-09 08:16 PM
    since some airlines are putting cell towers on their aircraft its really VERY unlikely that your phone does anything for the flight (in fact i know some pilots that leave theirs on, and have forgotten more than once to turn mine off). Its more of a politeness thing. Imagine a flight of 200+ people talking on their phones in a small metal tube
    01-03-09 08:18 PM
    Yep. The FAA (and their lawyers) are completely off base on this. I am a pilot and I *deliberately* leave my phone on every time I fly. Should the plane go down and my phone survive it's a beacon for search crews.

A plane that can be brought down by a 300 milliwatt radio is a plane I'm not flying.
    01-03-09 08:33 PM
    The MythBusters (Discovery Channel) tested this a while back. A cell phone radio will have no effect on a modern airplane. Lots of people "forget" to turn off their cell phones--and flying is still quite safe.
    01-03-09 08:56 PM
    Technically you're supposed to turn it completely off during takeoff and landing, so the GPS would be off also. (But like the previous commenters, I never do this.) But during the flight your GPS is a receiver and not a transmitter, so there is no chance of it having any effect on anything else. I say don't worry about it.
    01-03-09 09:58 PM
    My question is that if I leave the GPS on, would that interfere with any operation of the flight???
    a better question might be, why do you want gps while you're on a plane???
    01-03-09 10:17 PM
    the phone companies also don't like using phones in planes because the phone can connect to multiple towers from a plane and are switching on and off of them quickly.
    01-03-09 10:19 PM