Hey there.

With the news of 4G coming out in 2009, I know some of you guys are psyched to see what 4G has to offer. Right now my WiFi is slower than 3G, and I run Optimum Online. But with 4G rolling out, my computer is going to be left in the dust. I hope to see some fast connectivity.

However, with 4G, there is also the fact of maybe having to upgrade your actual phone. I'm not pleased with that. But EVEN before 4G was ever mentioned on CrackBerry, my cousins and I were talking about the Storm, Bold and 3G service. My dad was also in the conversation, and he had stated that there will be a code leaked for 4G service on the Storm, Bold and all the other 3G devices.

I'm not sure, but this would be pretty wicked. I'm also having mixed feelings as the phone could lock itself, unless it was a pretty hardcore code. However, maybe the chip for 4G could be identical? Forgive me if I am wrong, I'm quite new to BB, and I hope I could get some answers for this important question.
    02-22-09 06:02 PM
    The international telecommunications regulatory and standardization bodies are working for commercial deployment of 4G networks roughly in the 2012-2015 time scale. At that point it is predicted that even with current evolutions of third generation 3G networks, these will tend to be congested.

All according to Wiki....

Seems like we have a little to wait, but I'm pretty happy w/ 3g
    02-22-09 06:58 PM
    By the time 4G is actually out for most of us it will be time for a new phone... Heck EVDO is not even fully deployed through the USA. 3G AT&T is in like what 5 major cities? Lol! EVDO will be what most of us will have for years and years to come...

Sorry... But USA is too big to catch up to the island of Japan... Seriously... We will always be behind! It's a deployment issue.

Also, I doubt 4G would be a software upgrade... Seems impossible considering the technology involved.
    02-22-09 07:00 PM