02-18-09 02:47 PM
34 12
tools
    In an effort to perhaps narrow down what's causing the often reported poor battery performance in .103 I'd like anyone willing to help out with this to post their apps below, and whether or not they're having a battery problem. I'll start.

Having battery issue? : YES

Installed 3rd party apps running :

Viigo
    Instango
    FaceBook
    QuickLaunch

(Yes, that's it.)
    02-15-09 11:49 AM
    Is instango "running".

It is a known SERIOUS battery drainer.
    02-15-09 11:51 AM
    But I had instango running on .99 and my battery life was fine.

And I suppose the followup question is: Other than uninstalling it, how do you make it behave, if it's the problem?
    Last edited by punman; 02-15-09 at 12:02 PM.
    02-15-09 11:52 AM
    It's so odd because I've heard some people say battery has improved and others like the OP who said it hasn't. It's got to be something running.

I fall into the improved group.

I'm new to bb so I don't know how it's suppose to behave. Ignorance is bliss, ya know.
    Edit: To follow your format

No

Installed third party apps: Google Sync, PBA Bowling, Trapster, e-Mobile Weather.
    Last edited by hookbill; 02-15-09 at 12:10 PM.
    02-15-09 12:06 PM
    But I had instango running on .99 and my battery life was fine.

And I suppose the followup question is: Other than uninstalling it, how do you make it behave, if it's the problem?
    I found it was really any app that updates automatically from the internet. I removed weatherbug and its been fine since. And yes these were not running and still draining the battery.

There was another thread about it but two things worked for other people

1 - Make sure your logged out of things like facebook, that way it cant update
    2 - set any GPS connected app to not search for location automatically