Hi all,

First post here. I'm new to the Storm, buying it launch weekend at Best Buy and trying it out against my Sprint HTC Mogul. I'm concerned about the signal strength on the Storm -- in the past, I've had Verizon and always had excellent signal everywhere I go, but the Storm loses badly to the Sprint (!) phone this time around. In tough locations (deep in buildings, my home, etc) the Mogul consistently keeps at least 1-2 bars of service and can complete calls. In addition, it holds the EVDO connection very well, only occasionally reverting to 1x. In my other hand, the Storm will frequently revert to "1x" mode, or even worse, the dreaded "x" or "SOS" will show up in the same spot where my Sprint phone is locked to EVDO. Web browsing in borderline areas is challenging on the Storm, with the browser sitting on "Requesting" while the Sprint phone flies through loading the page at the same time.

I live in Orange County, which definitely has excellent Verizon coverage, but not once has the Storm picked up a signal when the Mogul hasn't, and the vice versa situation has presented itself often.

When I check the Storm signal strength through the Options menu, it seems to peg at "-80dB." Doesn't seem to be able to go any higher. Is anyone else here getting a higher signal reading (i.e. -60-70dB)?
    12-11-08 08:37 PM
    I've noticed signal fluctuation as well.. I used to get 3-4 bars on my curve down to 1-2 on my storm in my house and i'm just 10 minutes north of Boston and i've always had great service. No idea whats causing it.
    12-11-08 08:39 PM
    Same here, big time signal fluctuation! Standing in place it even fluctuates.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-11-08 08:46 PM
    For the first time in 8 years I have lost service in my bedroom. I don't know what the deal was... At least its only happened twice.

12-11-08 08:49 PM
    I ride the Metro in DC and have had no problem w/ the signal underground.
    12-11-08 08:50 PM