To lead this off we need to settle one thing: I'm an *****.

I'm a poor college student that had the bright idea to get a BlackBerry Storm to try to keep my homework, classes, and clubs organized. I ordered it the day after it came out and got it about a week later.

However last Friday I was at a party, had a couple drinks and managed to to drop it from hand height onto a cement floor. I pick it up used to my old phone which took falls like a champ and see an inch and a half long crack in the upper left hand corner of the screen.

Now everything still works fine, the click is a little worse but i can still type at a normal speed etc. but I cannot stand that crack, especially since I need to keep this phone for another two years for the NE2.

Now my question is, how does Verizon's return policy work? I have insurance so I just need to drop the $50 deductible and I can return it legitimately. But I was wondering if I could try to trick them into thinking that I just have a bad click screen, take the papers I have out of behind the phone and try to send it back to them without them noticing that I actually dropped the phone.

When you return a phone do they send you the replacement before you send them the broken one? How strict are they on the quality of the returned device. What are the odds of getting a refurbished phone when returning it, are the odds better of getting a new one if I return it through the insurance.

Anyone have any advice on the matter?

Thanks.
    12-10-08 12:03 PM
    Fraud posted on public internetz...FAIL
    12-10-08 12:05 PM
    If you have the insurance, just call them. They will send you a new one, then you send that one back. If you try to trick them they might bill you for the full price of the phone. Not worth it
    12-10-08 12:07 PM
    Haha I could not have handled this phone in college. I always had a cheap flip phone that could withstand drops off a balcony and a night outside in a bush every once in a while.