Hi everyone,

I'm new to CB and am about to get my first BB. After debating between the Bold and the Storm, I think I've settled on the Storm for a few reasons:
    1. I'm already on Verizon and like the network, and heard AT&T can suck
    2. The price *may* be cheaper than the Bold w/ 2yr contract
    3. I was worried about typing speed, but now think it may not be that big of a deal
    4. The larger screen seems like it will be very nice

I've tried to do my research and will attempt to keep the dumb questions to a minimum and use the search function often. However, I do have a few questions.

1. Will the GPS on the Storm be unlocked from the start, or is there just a rumor that Verizon plans to open up GPS on devices to 3rd party apps sometime in the near future (I don't want to pay for VZ Nav, but want GPS)?

2. I have email through an Exchange server now. A Verizon salesman told me I may be able to access it with BIS. Is that true or will I need BES?

3. I am starting my own company and will likely be setting up a web presence and some type of email system to be ready when we [hopefully] grow. Are there any best practices for BB integration for outsourced Exchange server hosting and the like, or just small businesses in general?

4. Is there anything else I really need to know?

Thanks everyone, and I look forward to being part of the community.
    11-10-08 12:55 PM
    1. Will the GPS on the Storm be unlocked from the start, or is there just a rumor that Verizon plans to open up GPS on devices to 3rd party apps sometime in the near future (I don't want to pay for VZ Nav, but want GPS)?
    Welcome!!

The regular GPS will be open. The aGPS (assisted initial location with cell towers) will be reserved for VZ Nav.

Gotta leave the others for someone familiar with the BIS accounts.

Hope that helps!
    11-10-08 01:17 PM
    I get vz nav for free on my premium plan. Don't know if it will be different for the storm though.