Sorry guys, I'm a newbie. I'm getting a 9530 soon and am trying to familiarize myself with various terms and whatnot. Could someone tell me what a memory leak is exactly? And how they happen and also how to prevent them/stop them? Thanks guys.
    08-16-09 07:34 PM
    A memory leak is when your device memory is slowing going down. You can check how much available memory you have on the Storm. You check it and it says 39mb, you check an hour later and it says 30mb. This is a memory leak. They are caused by many different things. Leaving programs running in the background, bad programs installed, bad OS. It can be caused by tons of different things, and its tough to find the exact cause most times.
    08-16-09 08:06 PM
    Google it & u'll get tons of info.
    08-16-09 08:30 PM
    Just install OS .151
    08-16-09 08:31 PM
    isn't .151 only beta or something like that? And wouldn't i have to mod files and backup all of my stuff?
    08-17-09 10:34 AM
    isn't .151 only beta or something like that? And wouldn't i have to mod files and backup all of my stuff?
    No it's not a beta, it's just not approved by Big Red.
    08-17-09 10:45 AM
    No it's not a beta, it's just not approved by Big Red.
    Just to expound on this a bit further: .151 is definitely something you'll want to strongly consider if you're very concerned about memory leaks. I only lose about .5mb a day on average since I upgraded to .151 a few weeks ago.
    08-17-09 10:53 AM