Hello to all of you helpful folks out here in Crackberry-land. I'm somewhat new to the smartphone world and very new to Blackberry. A bit of history on myself, I've been a Verizon customer since 2001. My last phone with them was the LG Dare. I left two lines with them but recently ported my own number over to T-mobile to use with a jailbroken iPhone 2G/8gig.

The iPhone is very enjoyable to use around Wifi but being on EDGE most of the time isn't very enjoyable, especially when I am so used to the Verizon network. A few friends have recently gone the Droid route, but since I very much enjoy push mail from Yahoo, Audible.com, and not extending my Verizon contract, that wasn't a choice for me.

So one of the friends who upgraded handed over his Storm for me to play around with and so far I've done a decent job but still have some trouble understanding to me what is new terminology.

First about the phone and what I have on it. It is a Verizon Storm 9530 with 8Gig microSD ram card. It is running 5.0.0.328. I've installed the following apps on it:

Google Maps
    Facebook
    Opera 5 beta
    Blackberry App World
    Pandora
    Audible.com
    Pirates!

Application Memory Free Space - 14-16 megs
    Device Memory - 879.2
    Free Memory - 865

It appears lots of folks spend time managing their memory due to the multitasking nature of the Storm. The memory gets low and the phone gets sluggish, at least that is my understanding. I've tried closing all the apps when I am done using them but four or so tend to always stay open. BBMess, Phone, Home and Browser or something similar. I'm trying to remember to truly close everything when I don't want to leave it open in the background so what is typical for open apps?