Let's remember, though; the VZW Storm slide presentation mentions AGPS for use with Blackberry Maps. Then it also talks about VZNavigator. The VZNavigator is a good program, in my opinion, and it has many features that BBMaps does not have. I think Big Red will offer VZ Navigator as an alternative to the free, but less feature-filled, Blackberry Maps.
    That would be cool. I could tolerate that

Hey I've never used a BB before... the 9530 will be my first. What's BB Maps like? Similar to Google Maps? Is there a "satellite" view function? I thought that was kind of neat on the iPhone, when you're in GPS mode you can turn it into satellite view and get a birds eye of where you are.
    10-06-08 09:23 AM
    You know that's a great point. They're charging you for a free, government provided service. That can't be legal.
    GPS is locked down, not disabled, there is a big difference. Also the government doesn't pay for the usage and upkeep of the network it is getting used by **if it's using cell towers, not saying my knowledge of gps is the greatest but still**

This isn't a GPS debate thread, there are reasons it's done, deal with it and move on, you can pinpoint your location with blackberry maps, google maps, I can get directions, I just can't use it for my audible turn by turn directions for other services, that is a luxury, not a requirement, therefore not illegal.

Also it's not a "Free" service, the government personally taxes you for the e911 compatability, so that's a miscalculation there as well, it's not even a vzw surcharge or anything, the government just CHARGES, and it's different rates for different locations, so it can upkeep it's own personal GPS tracking capabilities for emergency situations, not for you to have a flashy way to get from point a to point b.