I'm a college student and need a touchscreen PDA that has word-processing capability, but worried about the $120/monthly fee (for the minutes, texts, GPS and internet access). I would be buying a PDA pretty much in place of buying a laptop. I'd be writing entire papers for my classes with it. It seems like with the iPhone you get more for the same price (for instance instead of the limited amount of minutes with the Blackberry, you get unlimited minutes AND unlimited texts with the iPhone for the same price per month). Can anyone give me opinions and advice? In depth advice would be appreciated because I don't really know THAT much about PDA's.
    Thank you!
    -Also, how does internet access work on the Storm? Can you pretty much connect to the net from anywhere?
    Last edited by ChelseaRave; 01-31-09 at 11:47 AM. Reason: added info
    01-31-09 11:42 AM
    i consider myself very lucky - i am a college student with a storm and a laptop. take it from me, the storm is an incredible device but you do not want to rely on it or any other PDA to replace a laptop at college. The amount of papers you will write and research you need to do can not be done on a PDA. As nice as having one is if you have to choose I would highly recommend going with a normal dumb phone and buying yourself a cheap laptop. Don't replace a laptop with a PDA for college it will make you life much more difficult.

Hope you figure out what you need. And with service contracts, make sure before you look to heavilly on price you check coverage in your area because saving a few dollars is pointless if you will not be able to use the device.

Best of luck.
    01-31-09 11:46 AM
    A PDA will not be an appropriate substitute for writing entire papers. Buy a laptop and save yourself the headaches.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-31-09 11:47 AM
    I can't imagine writing papers on a pda in general, but on a touch-screen - yikes.