Hello, this is my first post to CrackBerry.com

I've been using a BlackBerry Storm for 15 months, since Dec. 2008. For the most part, its been working fine.

About 1.5 weeks ago, I noticed while traveling that my Storm didn't fully charge overnight. I make it a habit of charging it every night. I didn't think anything of it. I thought maybe I switched off the hotel electric outlet accidentally. Since that time, I've woken up and found my Storm less than fully charged numerous times.

I then started noticing that after plugging in to charge, it often stopped charging about 20 seconds later. I mostly use the original AC charger, but often use my car charger too, with the same results.

My first thought is that the USB port, to which the chargers plug-in, has gone bad. But I periodically get a full, good charge.

I've thought that it could be a software problem (false detection/non-detection of incoming current), but am not sure.

Has anyone else experienced something similar? If so, how did you solve it? I'm close to asking Verizon for an early upgrade to a Motorola Droid.

Thanks!
    Haj
    03-14-10 10:36 PM
    Try a battery pull. If not it could just be the charger, get a new one. Go to Verizon and have them test the battery for you.
    03-14-10 11:06 PM
    It's the phone. It will probably get worse, Happened to 2 phones for me already. I had to replace them.
    03-15-10 06:33 AM
    I had a similar problem last night: I was charging when I got a notification, so I unplugged the phone checked it and plugged it back into the charger. Then I got a message saying that the device can't be charged and something about USB ports (I don't remember the whole message). I left it plugged in anyway just in case and the phone's been at a full charge all day.

If it does it again go to Verizon to have them check it and try getting a new charger? That's my plan at the moment.
    03-15-10 01:21 PM