...and I know that this has been brought up.

But my question is if we have 128MB of application memory that can be used for the OS and any 3rd party apps why does the "free space fluctuate?

For instance on my MeterBerry App, it says:
    Application
    Total 128.0 MB
    Free (19%) 24.1 MB
    Since Start Up -10.9 MB

The available space and size of the applications does not change why does the amount of space available change? According to MeterBerry App, these are directly related.

If I have 128.0MB of space for applications and OS then I should have a constant amount available, right? Thinking of my PC, I have a 500GB hard drive and 4GB RAM. When the PC is using more ram it does not change the available space on the hard drive, right?

Forgive me, I am not a true techie but I truly want to understand this better than I do. Thanks to those that attempt to answer this.
    05-10-09 12:57 AM
    Well, the biggest reason is that some programs are written with "leaks" they grow a little bit with temporary information that they generate as they are used. Log files etc.

There are also the other programs you use that generate or download information, for instance the browser and messages. If you use VIIGO, it downloads news articles etc. These all have to be saved in that app memory, unfortunately they can't be saved elsewhere yet.

All of those little things add up over time to eat away memory. When you restart the BB, all those temporary files are deleted, which brings your memory back up to about what it was before. Any differences are for files that remain such as cookies, Viigo stories etc.

Some programs are written with horrible memory leaks. I've been seeing quite a bit of a memory leak with Viigo so far. I believe it is just that the more the program is designed to do, the less efficient it is with memory use. Viigo is designed to do a massive number of things, the programmers couldn't be expected to get it all perfectly, especially in Beta.