Hi,

I am a complete novice when it comes to BES, and I am learning as I go with setting it up.

I have BES installed on a Windows Server 2003, and I have to manage about 15 - 20 blackberries, mainly the option to control the applications running and the update of those applications.

Can I go about doing this through BES without using an Exchange server ? If so how can that be done ?

The reason I don't want to use Exchange server is that we don't use it for anything else, and I do not want to spend the money just for this. if it did come down to it I would consider it, but if I can setup BES without the exchange server then I would be happy.

And can some one please explain how BES works, maybe I can get a better picture as to how BES will communicate with each BBs I need to manage.

Thanks
    06-10-08 03:13 PM
    So...what exactly do you use for email?
    06-11-08 12:07 PM
    Email for the Blackberry you mean, if so they are all rogers email accounts, as in they all use xxxx@rogers.blackberry.net addresses.

And we are not planning on using the BES for email, just for Blackberry Content management.
    06-11-08 02:24 PM
    I see. So you don't have *any* messaging infrastructure of your own?

BES is going to want to connect to something as it's primary function in life is messaging content delivery.

To be honest I don't think you can even install BES w/o some messaging platform. e.g. Exchange, Domino, Groupwise.
    06-11-08 03:02 PM
    No we don't.

The Blackberries are given to our higher level employees for their communications and correspondences.

The reason we want to use BES, is to control the software that is being used in those BB, so we can control the bandwidth used by these devices.

I was able to install BES without a messaging platform, but yes I was not able to setup the configuration as it needs some sort of message delivery platform information.