Hi,

I'm kinda new to the BB administration and I want to improve our current Situation, because my boss thinking about dismissing BB and getting Windows Phone or Apple :-/
    Currently, we're using in our BB-environment(BES 5 and about 100 Devices) only Mail/Calendar/Contacts(Exchange) and IT-Policies (which disable almost every addition feature of the BBs..)
    So, as you need an Blackberry-ID to use BBM and to access the BB App World, I wonder how other Companies dealing with the BB-ID and everything that goes with it.
    You can't manage the BB-ID for every user through BES, right?
    Is it up to every user to create an ID? Do you have some kind of user-assignment which handle e.g. the support-request for the Apps from the user?
    (something like "[..] don't come to us, if an App don't work anymore[...] it's your problem, if you delete an App and you can't get it back. Even if you paid for it with your credit card[..]")

How are you handling the whole "App Situation"? I know it's possible to push apps from the BES to the devices.
    But as far as I know, you need the installation files which aren't easy to find.
    Or Apps with costs: do you need to make some kind of contract with the app-publisher in order to get the installation files? (that sounds kind of...strange)

Thanks for the answers!
    01-04-13 10:13 AM
    What I would recommend is that users create a new BBID, using their WORK e-mail address, and use that exclusively on their work BBs. Not totally sure how you could enforce that, or if there's a policy available (ideally, something that would automatically register a BBID on the user's behalf using their work e-mail).

If your company is using someone's apps, they need a license. That license may be free, it may be a nominal fee. I'd say that if you license apps from a developer, they would very likely be the best source from which to get the installer files.
    01-04-13 10:17 AM