Hi. I apologize if i'm not allowed to post here, but my question is for BES administrators.

I'm new to BB and don't understand how BES works. My question is, what does my IT administrator have access to on my BB when using BES?

i'm not worried about appointments, email or contacts, but i was told they could also accesss personal email accounts, phone logs, all my text messages, and files like my ewallet passwords...basically anything i keep on my blackberry.

Your help and advice is TRULY appreciated.
    02-11-09 01:28 PM
    Hi Slapshotz,

If your running on a 4.1 BES then phone call logging is switched on by default. If they decide to switch on SMS logging then full details of the SMS including the message content is recorded in the log.

There is also location tracking but I haven't seen anyone using this in anger and I couldn't find a log file when I tested it. It may require an app on the device to report the location.

As for application data I don't think that this is transfered to the BES in any way.

They can also see the staus of the device from the BES. This will include an audit of what software and service books are on the device.
    02-11-09 04:35 PM
    Thanks Rh1noo. I must be far more concerned with privacy than a typical user since this sounds pretty unappealing. My supervisors are fine people, but I still would rather keep my personal email personal. I guess i might be stuck dealing with BIS.
    02-11-09 04:42 PM
    the sys admin knows all and sees all. and there's nothing you can do to stop us.
    02-12-09 01:39 PM