11-15-14 09:23 PM
33 12
tools
  1. AnimalPak200's Avatar
    Hey, please clarify this to me. I bought an Q10, but I asked for the SQN100-3 model, but they gave me a SQN100-2. I read that they only support CDMA/UTMS and where I am right now, Costa Rica, can enable HSPA+. So the SQN100-2 would give me an H+ if I try to connect to the 3g network? (Doesn't matter the 4G, don't need too much speed for a phone)
    Most places in LATAM H+ is their "4G". So a 3G plan would not get you on the HSPA+ signal. But yes, the SQ100-2 will get you 3G and most likely H+/4G if the bands match your carrier's.

    Posted via CB10
    11-11-14 10:35 PM
  2. WolfangAukang's Avatar
    Most places in LATAM H+ is their "4G". So a 3G plan would not get you on the HSPA+ signal. But yes, the SQ100-2 will get you 3G and most likely H+/4G if the bands match your carrier's.

    Posted via CB10
    Alright, I hope I could get the answer I wish. Which bands does the SQN100-2 supports to get the "H+", in that case? To compare with the ones from my operator
    11-11-14 10:40 PM
  3. raino's Avatar
    Alright, I hope I could get the answer I wish. Which bands does the SQN100-2 supports to get the "H+", in that case? To compare with the ones from my operator
    The SQN100-2 has these UMTS bands: 850 (band 5,) 900 (band 8,) 1900 (band 2,) and 2100 (band 1.) These are pretty much the most common UMTS bands in the world.

    Which carrier are you using?
    11-11-14 10:43 PM
  4. WolfangAukang's Avatar
    The SQN100-2 has these UMTS bands: 850 (band 5,) 900 (band 8,) 1900 (band 2,) and 2100 (band 1.) These are pretty much the most common UMTS bands in the world.

    Which carrier are you using?
    I'm using the ICE Celular carrier (Costa Rica). They use 850, so it will work for sure. The strange thing is that reading GSMArena Q10 specs, it says "HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SQN100-2, SQN100-3, SQN100-4", but when I googled more info about it, I found that SQN100-2 supports CDMA instead of HSPA. So i'm trying to avoid the frustration because of the wrong model purchase. And when I read this thread, I thought the Verizon SQN100-2 could support HSPA+, but I think I misunderstood it.
    11-11-14 10:52 PM
  5. raino's Avatar
    I'm using the ICE Celular carrier (Costa Rica). They use 850, so it will work for sure. The strange thing is that reading GSMArena Q10 specs, it says "HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SQN100-2, SQN100-3, SQN100-4", but when I googled more info about it, I found that SQN100-2 supports CDMA instead of HSPA. So i'm trying to avoid the frustration because of the wrong model purchase. And when I read this thread, I thought the Verizon SQN100-2 could support HSPA+, but I think I misunderstood it.
    If ICE does not have anything but a 850 MHz network, then HSPA+ (vs. HSPA) is just a matter of speeds. In other words, both 3G and HSPA+ are on the same UMTS network.

    The SQN100-2 is a CDMA phone, yes, but it also has these UMTS bands. All Q10s have the 850 MHz band, so any one should work, really.
    WolfangAukang likes this.
    11-11-14 10:56 PM
  6. WolfangAukang's Avatar
    If ICE does not have anything but a 850 MHz network, then HSPA+ (vs. HSPA) is just a matter of speeds. In other words, both 3G and HSPA+ are on the same UMTS network.

    The SQN100-2 is a CDMA phone, yes, but it also has these UMTS bands. All Q10s have the 850 MHz band, so any one should work, really.
    I will test the SIM on it tomorrow and watch the results. I expect everything goes fine, at least to have a decent data connection on the Q10. Great phone after hours playing with its qualities. Too bad the seller gave me another model instead of the one I wanted. Thank you.
    AnimalPak200 likes this.
    11-11-14 11:03 PM
  7. AnimalPak200's Avatar
    I will test the SIM on it tomorrow and watch the results. I expect everything goes fine, at least to have a decent data connection on the Q10. Great phone after hours playing with its qualities. Too bad the seller gave me another model instead of the one I wanted. Thank you.
    Make sure to come back and post the results. Always good to have real ground truth data of how each device works in various areas.

    Posted via CB10
    WolfangAukang likes this.
    11-12-14 09:59 AM
  8. WolfangAukang's Avatar
    Make sure to come back and post the results. Always good to have real ground truth data of how each device works in various areas.

    Posted via CB10
    Been a little late, but better late than never.

    Well, posting some results and everything went fine! I mean, here in Costa Rica, the telecomunication superintendency has a kind of policy, which doesn't allow non-homologated phones to "work" on Costa Rican territory.

    I tested my phone with my SIM and found that is was BC. Internet was flowing as usual, calls were OK, SMS were fine, nothing wrong. Checking later, I was relieved HSPA+ isn't implemented yet and 4G only works in some areas from the capital, which I don't go often. So the loss I had with my purchase was minimum, because I still have the basics, or at least what I really need from a phone.

    Maybe next month I could test this phone in Brazil, but I think it will be dangerous because I heard they bolck your phone by checking if your IMEI is on the ANATEL (the powerful superintendency from there) database. And for what I read, only the SQN100-3 is registered.
    11-15-14 09:23 PM
33 12

Similar Threads

  1. Unlocked VZW Storm on AT&T
    By killaray in forum BlackBerry Storm Series
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-24-09, 05:50 AM
  2. Could an unlocked Storm work on AT&T?
    By Hurricane2k9 in forum BlackBerry Storm Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-09, 11:27 AM
  3. using an unlocked flip 8220 on at&T
    By maxm in forum General BlackBerry News, Discussion & Rumors
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-07-08, 06:09 PM
  4. Unlocked Rogers Bold on At&T Just Got Txt Msg from Rogers
    By TChachra in forum BlackBerry Bold Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-22-08, 09:47 PM
  5. Unlocked/Unbranded 8320 on AT&T?!
    By amkls704 in forum BlackBerry Curve Series
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-18-08, 05:00 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD