09-30-14 01:57 PM
402 ... 1314151617
tools
  1. gabbleratchet's Avatar
    Is it just speed dial? Or can you launch an app as well?

    Posted via CB10
    11-12-13 12:12 PM
  2. ZeroBarrier's Avatar
    Just speed dial.
    11-12-13 12:29 PM
  3. gabbleratchet's Avatar
    Thanks. That sucks.

    Posted via CB10
    11-12-13 12:35 PM
  4. waterfrontmgmt's Avatar
    It has to be optionable. Once you get used to the new universal search, it's hard to imagine not having it.

    Posted via CB10
    11-12-13 02:20 PM
  5. ZeroBarrier's Avatar
    Well, as of 10.2.1.1055 it isn't optional, which sucks.

    Posted via CB10
    11-12-13 02:54 PM
  6. waterfrontmgmt's Avatar
    Yeah, but that is a leak right? If so, that doesn't mean anything.

    Posted via CB10
    11-12-13 03:01 PM
  7. dalight13's Avatar
    That leak is amazing guys you should really check it out...

    I just totally love that :


    Still no homescreen one-button speed dialing on Q10 in 10.2... WTF?-img_00000006.png

    Posted from my Q10 with only 1GB of RAM
    11-12-13 03:22 PM
  8. slagman5's Avatar
    It's unfortunate, I gave it a whirl for all of 15 min before rolling back. I't not optional, so I lose the ability to begin a universal search with special characters... So many amazing things in that leak, and such a huge annoyance it is to me to long press a keyboard button just to see it not bring up the search but instead bring up a notification about configuring a contact to that speed dial. I think I'm going to tweet Michael Clewley and ask if it can be made optional.
    That's weird, because on my Q10, if I type my friend's name Begoa as "Begona" it finds it just the same. So if you need to type a special character as the first letter, have you tried to simply type the normal version of that letter to see if it still finds it? I'm pretty sure it does.

    Edit:
    Still no homescreen one-button speed dialing on Q10 in 10.2... WTF?-img_00000335.png

    I just created a contact with the first letter that is a special character. Did a search without using the special character and it came up fine. Can you show me an example that you need to use where this isn't the case? Just curious, because I don't really understand how this doesn't work...
    Last edited by slagman5; 11-14-13 at 08:11 PM.
    11-13-13 07:06 PM
  9. slagman5's Avatar
    That leak is amazing guys you should really check it out...

    I just totally love that :


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_00000006.png 
Views:	468 
Size:	104.7 KB 
ID:	219941

    Posted from my Q10 with only 1GB of RAM
    It's not yet the official release right? I think I'm going to load a leak when it's the official release, just in case... :-)
    11-13-13 07:22 PM
  10. JoeQ10's Avatar
    Please implement home screen speed-dial. For all of the screen real estate we have given up to keep our physical keyboard, it's a very small legacy feature to request.
    slagman5 likes this.
    11-13-13 11:31 PM
  11. waterfrontmgmt's Avatar
    It's in the latest build that has been leaked. So it's coming.

    Posted via CB10
    11-13-13 11:35 PM
  12. slagman5's Avatar
    Please implement home screen speed-dial. For all of the screen real estate we have given up to keep our physical keyboard, it's a very small legacy feature to request.
    Yep, and it's FINALLY back in 10.2.1. :-)
    11-14-13 02:25 AM
  13. Dude_9's Avatar
    I wanna talk to Samson!
    The_Merovingian likes this.
    11-14-13 01:02 PM
  14. slagman5's Avatar
    Well, as of 10.2.1.1055 it isn't optional, which sucks.

    Posted via CB10
    Didn't realize the picture wasn't showing right, I added the screenshot of me testing the search of a word with a special character up front without using the special character. (a few comments above this) Let me know if this is what you're talking about. If not, can you show me an example?
    11-14-13 08:12 PM
  15. slagman5's Avatar
    Well, as of 10.2.1.1055 it isn't optional, which sucks.

    Posted via CB10
    ? Thought it should be pretty easy for you to show the special character you need to type that would interfere with this??
    11-16-13 03:13 AM
  16. waterfrontmgmt's Avatar
    You need to work on your baiting skills.
    quangtran1 likes this.
    11-16-13 03:16 AM
  17. slagman5's Avatar
    You need to work on your baiting skills.
    How is it baiting? He's claiming that he tried the speed dial and it got in the way of something he does every day, so I'm asking him for the example of how since I tried the first character as a special character thing and it works on my phone...

    If he shows me the example where that's not the case, that's just me learning something new. So I honestly want to see it...

    Posted without the aid of AutoCorrect with my physical keyboard via CB10
    11-16-13 10:59 PM
  18. The_Merovingian's Avatar
    Actually I still am using my Bold 9900 and I have my wife stored under the "M" speed dial. I don't use it often to be honest but when I first stored it, I used it very often. Whether I use it or not is the question. It is the fact that the removal of a feature on a physical keyboard should not go without an explanation. So thread moderator I too agree with you.
    mkmilan likes this.
    11-17-13 09:19 PM
  19. anon6040766's Avatar
    Yeah so 10.2.1 adds home screen speed dialing which is awesome. For those of you who want home screen one button shortcuts there was just a CrackBerry article on the app ShortCut It. It allows for this. Seems great. Haven't tried it. It is $0.99 so if you're one those who feel you shouldn't have to pay for what you use to have for free, then hold out. Just sharing the apps out there.

    Posted with my Q10 on Verizon from Philly
    11-17-13 10:19 PM
  20. gabbleratchet's Avatar
    ShortCut It creates icons on the home screen. It doesn't create keyboard shortcuts.

    Useful app, thoough.

    Posted via CB10
    11-18-13 10:10 AM
  21. mkmilan's Avatar
    Indicative of so many features dropped from legacy: still loving my 9900
    11-25-13 10:45 AM
  22. mkmilan's Avatar
    no, and neither are most people.....only the ones too mentally challenged or other wise occupied to open and use a keypad or keyboard

    Posted via CB10
    Your avatar SO appropriate
    11-25-13 10:59 AM
  23. mkmilan's Avatar
    You're still missing a few points. BBOS is not in the same league as the BB 10 on Universal Search, or Type n Go or whatever it's called now. There might actually be some people who would prefer having this new format and not have a problem with tapping the left bottom corner first before they type their speed dial.

    And as others have also pointed out, BBOS took YEARS and YEARS to get to 7. You sound like maybe the first BB you owned was a BB07 phone?

    And it is also been announced it is coming in an update. And I am pretty sure ranting on Crackberry will not speed it up. So these type post serve no purpose other than self venting.

    For those of us who have used BB's for the past 7 or 8 years, most of us are very happy with BB10. We don't really miss the freezes, batter pulls and spinning clocks.... that are still there in my BB07 device (9930)
    This is why Legacy devices outsold by a wide margin BB10 since the new OS came out?!
    11-25-13 11:25 AM
  24. waterfrontmgmt's Avatar
    Not many features from Legacy BBOS have been "dropped", except the spinning clock, keyboard light leak, and constant freezing Speed Dialing from home is back in the latest OS due out next year.

    It is just taking a long time for the developers to figure out how to implement Java features into QNX.

    This thread is DOA now.
    Indicative of so many features dropped from legacy: still loving my 9900


    Posted via CB10
    Last edited by waterfrontmgmt; 11-25-13 at 01:40 PM.
    11-25-13 11:57 AM
  25. slagman5's Avatar
    Not many features from Legacy BBOS have been "dropped", except the spinning clock, keyboard light leak, and constant freezing Speed Dialing from home is back in the latest OS due out next year.

    It is just taking a long time for the developers to figure out how to implement Java features into QNX.

    This thread is DOA now.




    Posted via CB10
    Homescreen speed dial is a "java" feature? Do you even know what that is? I take it you didn't take any computer programming classes in college right? :-D

    Posted without the aid of AutoCorrect with my physical keyboard via CB10
    11-25-13 09:57 PM
402 ... 1314151617

Similar Threads

  1. Skype not enviable in china
    By kaptanp3 in forum BlackBerry 10 Apps
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-24-13, 10:50 PM
  2. Help in buying Z10
    By Varun Luthra in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-04-13, 05:48 AM
  3. Have you seen one in the wild?
    By edberry12 in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-30-13, 08:15 PM
  4. how can i change icons on q10?
    By xenax in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-30-13, 01:50 PM
  5. Is the OS limiting the screen brightness on Z30?
    By CatlinFD in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-13, 09:33 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD