After the silver paint wears off of them, you'll see that the frets are in fact black plastic. Pure marketing B.S. at best. I'm a Machinist, and have been looking into this for some time now, and noticed this on a Q10 I had and sold because of this very issue, I would not have another one.

It would be nice to see an opinion from a metallurgist's point of view, as well as the numerous types of tests that can be performed to the whole device, such as a spark test, initiated to the "metal " parts of the device, among others, to see how well BlackBerry's claims hold up. I bet we'd all be in for quite a surprise.

BlackBerry needs to actually start using the metals they claim are actually in the parts of the device they say they're in, instead of pulling the wool over everyone's eyes.

Not Cool.

Posted via CB10
    Last edited by SpaceGrey5S; 11-03-14 at 01:02 PM.
    11-03-14 12:46 PM
    After the silver paint wears off of them, you'll see that the frets are in fact black plastic. Pure marketing B.S. at best. I'm a Machinist, and have been looking into this for some time now, and noticed this on a Q10 I had and sold because of this very issue, I would not have another one.

It would be nice to see an opinion from a metallurgist's point of view, as well as the numerous types of tests that can be performed to the whole device, such as a spark test, initiated to the "metal " parts of the device, among others, to see how well BlackBerry's claims hold up. I bet we'd all be in for quite a surprise.

BlackBerry needs to actually start using the metals they claim are actually in the parts of the device they say they're in, instead of pulling the wool over everyone's eyes.

Not Cool.

Posted via CB10
    hrm, very interesting, i'll have to take a look at my old keyboards, the last one i had had considerable wear on the keys but the frets stayed the normal silver.. maybe its time to take some sandpaper to it and see whats underneath!

have any pictures of the black plastic?