I got a car phone in 1986. I got my first PCS phone ca. 1999. Nokia Symbian OS, some ATT phone. Then I discovered the Nokia Communicator series, ohmigod, I was in love. The 9290 is still my favorite phone, although obviously way outdated now. Horizontal flip phone, calendar, document writing,big keyboard, could connect with my ISP server directly for internet, FAX!, ebooks, you name it. It was the original Smart Phone. All Steve Jobs did is add a touchscreen instead of a directional pad.

I went to a Nokia 810 with Windows Mobile 8 in 2014, I think. I HATED the fact that I could no longer use Nokia Ovi to own everything onto my PC. But what could I do? Nothing. Comply. "Yes, Mistress." Then the Nokia 925, then an Alcatel running Windows Phone 10 but it didn't have Glance, and the Microsoft branded 950XL which I've been using for two years. I LOVE the interface, the Live Tiles, the easy to use navigation. I think of it as a Tesla versus Android and iPhone Yugos. If you've not used it, don't weigh in.

But time marches on and WP is reaching End of Life in January, along with Windows 7, which I still use on the Mothership. No reason to change. I was greatly encouraged to see that MS is strongly supporting Android with many apps. So I took the dive and bought this Priv. I've recently been considering an iPhone because, mostly, to my knowledge Apple is more secure and not selling my data. But being Blackberry, I felt more secure, and holy moly, a REAL keyboard. Ironically, I've found the virtual KB much better than my WP, but I intend to start using the real deal soon.

I am truly trying to keep an open mind. I know things will be different. Connecting to my PC was a nightmare, unlike WP. But I got 'er done. WTF, Android, why is this no easier than my Kit Kat phone I briefly owned? In fact, harder because I had to figure how to become a "developer" with connection options.