04-16-16 08:15 PM
64 123
tools
    Why my BlackBerry Priv is the best BlackBerry I ever had
    And why all my previous BlackBerry were the best too

It all started back in 2008. At that time, I was a student and like many others, I had a Motorola v3i. After getting my first job, I was able to afford a phone with a contract and bought a BlackBerry Bold 9000.

This was a revelation for me: where some of my friends were still texting me in SMS language on their old-fashioned Nokia, I was able to type emails, SMS, take pictures and share them in an instant. I still remember our typing competitions when they used to mock my “big phone” that looked like a remote control. Didn’t matter: the facts were talking for themselves: I was already the most productive guy among my friends when talking about “getting things done”.

This is around that time that iPhone was born and I couldn’t understand why some people thought this was a revolution. To me, the phone was a screen: designed to consume content with no concept of productivity. Does any of you remember the first iPhone? Seriously, the device didn’t have a copy-paste functionality and didn’t support MMS. Yes – Ask Google!

I was really happy with my bold and I believe I kept it at least 2 years, until I bought myself a BlackBerry Bold 9780. Smaller, faster and for the first time with a track pad, I was in love and convinced the device was better than its big brother.

I think I kept my Bold 9780 an additional two years (or maybe a bit less), until the Bold 9900 was release. At that time, and to me, this was the true revolution: the first BlackBerry ever made that combined the power of a physical keyboard and the magic of a touch screen. Best BlackBerry ever! Until I bought my next one, again, something around 2 years later.