Unfortunately, as sad as it seems, no longer getting Facebook notifications was the final straw for me. I'm a coach and the team only uses FB to communicate, so having to get notifications in my email, clogging it up, and then go to FB to deal with them is just too inconvenient and unreliable. I have tried 3rd party apps and found them to be inconsistent at best.

My phone is my primary communication tool, calendar, and laptop. I need to be able to get through a day without worrying about the battery. I put a new battery in my Z10 and can just manage that, so that is the minimum bar that I've set. OS 10.3 seem to use up the battery faster than previous versions.

There are very few apps, other than FB and Instagram that are mandatory. I've been using BlackBerry so long that I've just gotten used to using the browser and I really don't use most of what I have.

I tend to keep phones a long time, otherwise I wouldn't even be worrying about this.
    From what I understood, you're looking for some simple Apps like FB & Instagram.. That will be found in any android device already.. So we go into other things.. Battery seems to be quite important for you.. Now the Priv has a good battery, Its 3410 mAH which is a little more than what's going around in most flagship devices... but honestly if you emphasize on long battery life.. then there are devices that champion that category.. But most of them are made to get you through one day of moderate use anyway.. That's the standard.