11-13-15 11:31 AM
103 1234 ...
tools
    The point is to bring awarenss to people who don't know. DTEK doesn't say this data access is God or bad. All it says is that it happened.

And no one is saying facebook is good or bad, or coded properly or not, when it connects to your GPS 10,000 times a day. All we are doing with DTEK is letting you know it happened. At that point it's up to the user to decide if they're comfortable with it.

So stop your griping about "I'm a developer and it's not a big deal", or "I've been in the industry for 30 years". No one cares. The point is to share the stats that DTEK is giving and letting users decide if they're ok with it.

So please, if you have a Priv and your DTEK is counting this stuff, screenshot it and share!

Jeez. I thought CB would be all over this. Apparently not. The idea was much better received on Reddit, of all places.

Posted via CB10
    Steelsheen and canuckvoip like this.
    11-09-15 01:36 AM
    I'm just using Snapchat as one example. There is no reason for it to access my location when I'm not using the app. I get that if I open it, it will need to access location, but why would it need to access location over 1000 times? I've opened the app maybe 3 times in 24 hours.

I get that it could just be bad coding, but doesn't this use up resources? Extra data? Extra battery power?

Just because there is no snooping doesn't mean it doesn't have other negative impacts.

Posted via CB10
    To the first point, I'm no Android expert but I've noticed that a lot of Android apps don't ever really shut down when you close them. All in would take is a silly decision by some coder to keep updating location on a schedule so it has the info ready when needed. Bad coding. If that's what it is... and I have no idea, never even used Snapchat!