All -

I recently purchased a Priv. I'm considering purchasing a protection plan. Would you recommend the BlackBerry Care Protection Plan Or Square Trade? Why is one better over the other, etc.

Thanks in advance!
    02-02-17 07:59 AM
    All -

I recently purchased a Priv. I'm considering purchasing a protection plan. Would you recommend the BlackBerry Care Protection Plan Or Square Trade? Why is one better over the other, etc.

Thanks in advance!
    I thought I remember people posting on here that BlackBerry Protection was no good. I have no personal experience with BlackBerry Protection and personally use Square Trade. I haven't had to make a claim but was impressed with the customer service when buying the plan. Like that you can buy a year at a time in case you upgrade early.
    02-02-17 08:04 AM
    tnewton3,

I saw that other thread about the long wait time for replacements. I have Square Trade on a few other phones but I have never had to use it. (iPhones for the family) I'm wondering since BB sells a plan, does it make sense to go with them over Square Trade in the event a replacement is needed? Maybe I might want longer but less of a hassle?
    02-02-17 08:22 AM
    All -

Thanks in advance!
    I hope you get a bunch of replies to help figure out the best route. I know that there's that more recent thread "BB Protection - joke" where folks report delays. Now, whether at this point in the Priv's life cycle, Square Trade can do better, I don't know. I think a good question is if BB's plan can't replace the phone, what do they ultimately do? Same question for Square Trade - or at they more generic and provide money or choice of device if the Priv is not available.

I guess I could ask the same question - I have "warranty/insurance" (and I'm not sure which) from Verizon. I don't know what they'd do at this point and hope I don't have to find out.
    02-02-17 08:50 AM
    Looks like we are in the minority as it relates to phone protection. Anyone?