Hi I just got my playbook last night and I'm new to all this stuff. LOL

I couldn't find this on the search so here it goes...

If you root your playbook....does it void the warranty?

Thanks
    Ryan
    01-04-12 02:08 PM
    That's a good question!! I just got mine last month and its already rooted. But I think if you wipe it the root will go away. And it will be back to normal. Well at least I hope so.
    01-04-12 02:33 PM
    You can decide for yourself: BlackBerry - PlayBook Limited Warranty

By my reading of it, "...will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use..." pretty much says it all. Rooting is not "normal use", so you'd likely have no grounds for a warranty claim if something went wrong with your PlayBook while or after you had rooted it. I suspect RIM wouldn't go to great lengths to reject a claim for a rooted device which had a defect unrelated to rooting, but I also suspect anyone relying on that possibility would be foolish.

There are other sections too: Exclusions and Limitations includes "(vi) to damage to the BlackBerry PlayBook caused by operation or use outside the permitted or intended uses described by RIM ..." and I suspect the referenced BlackBerry Solution License Agreement doesn't cover use of a rooted device or one modified in non-standard ways.

As always with legal stuff, whether or not any of this applies depends on your local jurisdiction, case law, and the fact that I Am Not A Lawyer, etc...
    01-04-12 02:41 PM
    Yeah but would they be able to tell if it was rooted if the device is wiped and rooting gone. I mean I don't anyone would be mindless enough to return a rooted device.
    01-04-12 03:20 PM