Road trip!!

Attachment 176963
    Post of the day goes to you!

"He was a beastly, bulging man."
    06-28-13 11:27 AM
    Sorry for being such an anal about the current BBRY, but...
    I did not have a misfortune of having a PB, so it does not bother me much about the possible demise of it.

But this causes me to worry even more about the BBRY's ability to bring the BB10 devices to an acceptable level. I am not a developer and know very little about how any software platform architecture is developed.
    I was indeed hyped up by the BB10 promotion, and bought a BBQ10 when it was launched in Canada. But I returned it in 2 days, and continued using the Bold 9900 "for now". I have not given up on BBRY, not as yet, and decided to give another 6 months or so before the Q10 would be updated enough to become usable without major glitches.

What worries me is this.

1. There might be something fundamentally difficult to adapt the QNX to a small handheld device. I do not need those bravadoes such as QNX runs nuclear plants etc. When PB, after a long labour pain, was finally launched, it did not even have the very basic PIMs (email, contacts, calendar etc)! How audacious was it! But it at least forced them to create a "bridge" thing with all sorts of excuses why the PB did not need those PIM's and they even went on to say that it was to keep the tight security (not leaving anything personal on a PB). But the elephant was in the room already.

2. After they promoted that the launch of BB10 was imminent (last summer or fall?), they abruptly told the market that it would be delayed until the 1st quarter of 2013. We reluctantly accepted it because the excuse was to take enough time to reasonably complete the BB10 before launch, not repeating the past mistakes. Fine, OK, We'll swallow it, but come up with a good one!