Interesting thread.

I am no shipping expert, but does anyone even know if it is possible to cancel or pull back a FedEx shipment once it is already on the truck? I cannot imagine that it is as easy as just calling FedEx and saying "nevermind" and have them go through all the steps of blocking the delivery basically minutes before it was to have happened. Anyone know if this is possible?
    04-13-11 09:59 AM
    Interesting thread.

I am no shipping expert, but does anyone even know if it is possible to cancel or pull back a FedEx shipment once it is already on the truck? I cannot imagine that it is as easy as just calling FedEx and saying "nevermind" and have them go through all the steps of blocking the delivery basically minutes before it was to have happened. Anyone know if this is possible?
    UMM we are talking about walmart here so yeahhh...im sure They can do that...We cant.
    04-13-11 10:11 AM
    Interesting thread.

I manage a small company in San Jose, CA. That said, I handle shipping recalls and diversions from time to time.

Yes, it is entirely possible, and I have done it before. FedEx and UPS drivers have an instant messaging type system in their trucks/on their PDAs so the home facility can reroute packages, schedule early/late pickups, etc. As long as the package hasn't been delivered, they can recall it at any time.
    04-13-11 10:13 AM
    Yes only the shipper can cancel a shipment or reroute, I have done it before. As a receiver, you have no rights.
    04-13-11 10:25 AM
    Interesting thread.