While I am no expert on batteries I go back to my previous laptop battery example as anecdotal evidence. My laptop has been "over charged" (in the sense that it has ben constantly on a charger while in use and when not in use) since I got it 2-3 years ago. I have been using battery bar on the laptop to recently monitor the health of the battery. According to battery bar, I have experiences 6% battery wear of 56,160 mWh during the life of the battery. To me that doesn't sound too bad for a 2-3 year old battery.

I am not saying that the information provided by Bluezone1 is inaccurate. Like Peter said above, I have a feeling that the battery engineers for electronic devices like the Playbook may have incorporated certain software or hardware designs into the devices to account for the lithium battery characteristics referenced in the article.

Another example is my old Blackberry Tour that I have used for almost 2 years as my alarm clock in its cradle (similar over charge situation). The battery is still is very good shape today even though it spends most of its life in a charging cradle.

Thoughts?
    01-08-12 09:21 AM
    While I am no expert on batteries I go back to my previous laptop battery example as anecdotal evidence. My laptop has been "over charged" (in the sense that it has ben constantly on a charger while in use and when not in use) since I got it 2-3 years ago. I have been using battery bar on the laptop to recently monitor the health of the battery. According to battery bar, I have experiences 6% battery wear of 56,160 mWh during the life of the battery. To me that doesn't sound too bad for a 2-3 year old battery.

I am not saying that the information provided by Bluezone1 is inaccurate. Like Peter said above, I have a feeling that the battery engineers for electronic devices like the Playbook may have incorporated certain software or hardware designs into the devices to account for the lithium battery characteristics referenced in the article.