I wouldn't worry about it, but if it happens, it's really not that hard to change out. I've got another PB I'm replacing the digitizer on and found that replacing the batteries would be relatively easy. Actually two batteries in an assembly.
    Last edited by rotorwrench; 06-12-12 at 11:49 AM.
    06-12-12 11:40 AM
    while that may be partially true, the biggest reason why manufacturers don't make removable batteries is due to recycling and hazardous waste restrictions in multiple countries.

if you make your battery field replaceable, you have to provide a way to dispose of that battery at the cost of the manufacturer.
    I have no knowledge of that to back it up, but it wouldn't surprise me.

I'm more inclined to believe it is from a size/weight/cost to produce standpoint. All the RIM phones have replaceable batteries and virtually every laptop does too.
    06-12-12 12:36 PM
    Well, the quality of the iPad is better than the playbook. At least, this is my experience with my 16 GB.

It takes forever to charge my playbook fully.

I made the mistake of charging it last time through a USB combined with wall plug in

Now, it is dead.

Thing is, RIM designed the playbook to be almost impossible to re-charge if you charge it down to 0. I did this by accident.

I tried the magic aerobics to revive it to no avail. The worst idea was apparently trying to "cycle power". After trying that, my Playbook is in a RIP state.

I bought my playbook at full price in septemeber of last year. It is dead after less than a year.

Compare that to the iPad? Well, my wife's iPad is still fine and I bought that at the same time. It doesn't take 1 minute to boot up.
    Did you try to RMA it?

RMA rep told me even though PBs are out of warranty, they still accept RMAs past warranty period.

Mine is out of warranty and they said they'll fix my battery issue for free.
    06-12-12 12:55 PM