hello everyone,
    I am new to this community and to the whole blackeberry thing. i bought playbook couple of months ago but didn't use it. But yesterday when i tried to use it for the very first time, it asked me for my wifi password and create an ID as well, then it took me the software update part where it started downloading the update (about 510 mb--version 2.0.6..... can't remember but think its the latest update). The downloading part takes place without problem. Its the installing of the download which is giving me problem. After the download, it starts installing it and at the end of installation, it gives the error message saying ' Unable to install'. Am i doing sth wrong? or is it my playbook or is it that i have to change my wifi?
    Please help as i am very new to all this playbook thing.
    thankyou
    p.s. i downloaded the whole update twice already and its the same problem.
    russ2903 likes this.
    08-02-12 11:46 PM
    I got my Playbook yesterday and am experiencing the same issue. Only difference with me is that I already had a Blackberry ID as i have a 9900. I have tried it about 5 times on 2 different wifi networks and get the same problem. Downloads fine, gets to about 67% of the install then says Unable to Install.

Wondering if it is something to do with the fact that we are trying to go from the original OS straight to the latest one

Hope someone can help
    08-03-12 04:03 AM
    Hey ...

I encountered the same error you guys got when I tried to install the OS update over wifi & what I did to overcome it is to install the OS update via the Desktop Manager (You might have to download it from Blackberry's website), connected to the PC by the supplied USB cable and away it went.

It took a long time (Or at least it seemed too, but I have had no coffee yet today so I am still in a fog so I really can't say for sure how long it took ), but it installed without any issues and it works perfectly.

Hope this helps.

John